Do We Need Bookstores Anymore?

Jane Lindskold: Wednesday Wanderings

Quick Reminder: Tomorrow is the last day you can enter to win a copy of the ARC of Artemis Invaded.  Details are on the Jane Lindskold Facebook page.

Before you read any further, I’m going to provide a spoiler.  My answer is “yes.”  However, I believe that for bookstores to survive, they may need to adapt.

I’m not sure how many of you are familiar with the recent events surrounding Borderlands Bookstore in San Francisco, California.  If you are, skip the next paragraph – or don’t.  I’ve talked to a few people who seem to only have part of the picture.

Me At Mysterious Galaxy Me At Mysterious Galaxy

Borderlands Bookstore specializes in SF/F.  They have a knowledgeable staff, a friendly atmosphere, and offer a much wider variety of works than you’ll find at your standard Big Box Store.  They host great author events (I know this firsthand) and even serve a…

View original post 1,201 more words

